COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES



Brussels, 5.8.2005 COM(2005) 373 final

Proposal for a

COUNCIL DECISION

on the replacement of members of the European Social Fund Committee

(presented by the Commission)

EN EN

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

Replacement of members of the European Social Fund Committee

- (1) Article 47 of Council Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 laying down general provisions on the Structural Funds states that the Commission shall be assisted with regard to Objective 3 by a Committee pursuant to Article 147 of the Treaty.
- (2) Article 49 of the same Regulation contains provisions setting out the procedures for the functioning of this Committee.
- (3) This Article states that the Committee shall be composed of two government representatives, two representatives of workers' organisations and two representatives of employers' organisations from each Member State. The members and alternate members are to be appointed by the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, for a period of three years.
- (4) On 24 September 2004, acting on a proposal from the Commission, the Council adopted a Decision appointing members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the period from 1 May 2004 to 30 April 2007.
- (5) The term of office of the members of the European Social Fund Committee expires on 30 April 2007.
- (6) It is necessary to appoint members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the seats that have become vacant for the period up to 30 April 2007.

Proposal for a

COUNCIL DECISION

on the replacement of members of the European Social Fund Committee

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 147 thereof,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 laying down general provisions on the Structural Funds, and in particular Article 49 thereof ¹,

Having regard to the Council Decision of 24 September 2004 appointing members and alternate members of the Committee referred to in Article 147 of the EC Treaty²,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission³,

Whereas:

- (1) The Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, by Decision of 24 September 2004 appointed the members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the period up to 30 April 2007.
- (2) In the meantime, the seats of various members have become vacant as a result of resignations.
- (3) Members must be appointed to the European Social Fund Committee for the seats that have become vacant,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The persons whose names are indicated in the Annex are hereby appointed members of the European Social Fund Committee for the remaining term of office, i.e. until 30 April 2007, as indicated.

³ OJ C, , p. .

-

OJ L 161, 26.6.1999, p. 1.

Not yet published.

Article 2

This decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels,

For the Council
The President

ANNEX

Member State	Representative	Name	Replacing
Belgium	Government	Mr Günther MATTHEUSSENS	Mr Dominik ROLAND, Member
Cyprus	Employers	Mr George PANTELIDES	Mr Petros PETROU, Member
	Trade Union	Mr Diomides DIOMIDOUS	Instead of <u>Diomedes DIOMEDOUS</u> , Alternate -Spelling-
Czech Republic	Government		Mr Thomas KUCHTCHIK, Alternate -is not replaced-
	Employers	Mr Josef FORNUSEK	Mr Jiri KOHOUTEK, Member
Denmark	Employers	Mrs Lise PONTOPPIDAN	Mrs Lise SKANTING, Member
	Trade Union	Mr Poul HANSEN	Mr Tyge GROES, Alternate
Estonia	Government	Mrs Merlin ORGLA	Mrs Kertu SAKS, Member
	Government	Mrs Mari VÄLI	Mrs Merlin ORGLA, Alternate
	Employers	Ms Aire MILL	Vacant Member Position
Germany	Trade Union	Mr Hans-Detlev KÜLLER	Mr Jochen LAUX, Member
Greece	Government	Mr Georgios ZERVOS	Mrs Anna DALAPORTA, Member
	Government	Mr Dimitrios KYROUSIS	Mr Magas KONSTANTINOS, Member
	Government		Mrs Anthopouloy OURANIA, Alternate -is not replaced-
Italy	Government	Mrs Matilde MANCINI	Mrs Aviana BULGARELLI, Member
	Employers	Mr Bruno SCAZZOCCHIO	Mr Claudio GENTILI, Member
	Employers	Mrs Ilaria DI CROCE	Mrs Eleonora PISSICHIO, Member
Latvia	Trade Union	Ms. Linda ROMELE	Ms Iveta OZOLA, Member
Lithuania	Employers	Mr Vaidotas LEVICKIS	Instead of Mr Vaidotas LEVICKAS, Member -Spelling-
	Employers	Ms Marija ZOKAITE	Ms Laura SIRVYDIENE, Alternate
Malta	Government	Mr Robert TABONE	Ms Sue VELLA, Alternate

	Trade Union	Mr Anthony MICALLEF DEBONO	Mr Charles MAGRO, Alternate
Poland	Employers	Mr Jacek STRZELECKI	Mr Andrzej JANKOWSKI, Member
	Employers	Mrs Magda KOPCZYNSKA	Mr Jacek KRAWCZYK, Alternate
Portugal	Trade Union	Mr Georges CASULA	Mr Eugénio Oscar GARCIA DA ROSA, Member
Slovakia	Government		Ms Andrea KOSTOLNA, Member -is not replaced-
	Trade Union		Ms Margita ANCICOVA, Alternate -is not replaced-
Slovenia	Government	Ms Tanja ČESEN	Ms Stasa BALOH PLAHUTNIK, Member
	Government	Ms Magda ZUPANČIČ	Ms Damjana KARLO, Member
	Government	Ms Vesna MILETIČ	Ms Nastja STERGAR, Alternate
Spain	Trade Union	Mrs Ana HERMOSO CANOURA	Mrs Ana HERMOSO -uncompleted name
Finland	Employers	Mr Mikko RÄSÄNEN	Mr Jukka AHTELA, Alternate
	Trade Union	Mr Tom HOLMROOS	Ms Mervi HUUSKONEN, Member
Sweden	Trade Union	Mrs Erika BERNDT	Mrs Erika KJELLSTRAND, Member -Changed to married name-
United Kingdom	Employers	Mrs Sue PYATT	Mr Anthony THOMPSON, Member